History of Bakewell Cottage
Bakewell Cottage’s original name is Chalice Cottage. The cottage is named after a Chalice which was found close by. There is also a representation of the chalice on a stone which is in the entrance porch of St Mary’s Church, behind the property.
We understand that the original Chalice is now in a museum in Sheffield. Due to the situation in 2020 and the closure of so many things, we have yet to go and discover this for ourselves. There is however a replica in the cottage on the shelf in the living room.
We know that Chalice Cottage was in constructed by 1799 as a map is in existence of the area and the row of cottages is clearly marked. This would make the cottage 221 years old. We do believe however that the cottage maybe closer to 280 – 300 years old. The house opposite was built in 1730. Looking at this house and others in Bakewell of this time we feel that the cottage is consistent with being constructed at this earlier time. Again this is a project for the future when we are able once again to visit museums and libraries to uncover the history.